## JIM. GIBBONS Governor



CHAIRMAN: Lew Dodgion Carson City, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

**MEMBERS** 

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Tony Lesperance Director, Department of Agriculture

Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

Kenneth Mayer - Director Department of Wildlife

Kathryn Landreth Reno, NV

Tracy Taylor State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Harry Shull Las Vegas, NV

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Stephanne Zimmerman Las Vegas, NV

COUNSEL Rose Marie Reynolds

STAFF
John B. Walker
Executive Secretary

Kathy Rebert Recording Secretary

## STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856

www.sec.nv.gov

December 17, 2009

Ms. Brenda Erdoes, Legislative Counsel

C/o Debra. Corp Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB), Legal Division 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701-4747

Re: R130-09: Changes to Motor Vehicle Emission Program

Dear Ms. Corp:

Attached is a permanent regulation referenced above that was adopted by the State Environmental Commission (SEC) on December 9<sup>th</sup> 2009. Also attached is the filing statement required by NRS 233B.066 and the SEC form for filing administrative regulations with the Secretary of State.

This regulation aligns the motor vehicle inspection and maintenance (I/M) program with recent changes made in statute (Assembly Bill 414) during the 2009 Nevada Legislative session. These changes affect the smog check programs in Washoe and Clark Counties. The regulation addresses three types of vehicles subject to the annual registration-enforced emissions control program: heavy-duty diesel-powered vehicles, trimobiles and reconstructed vehicles. More information about this regulation such as workshop notices and related background information is available on the SEC website at: <a href="http://sec.nv.gov/main/hearing\_1209.htm">http://sec.nv.gov/main/hearing\_1209.htm</a>

The contact person for this regulation is Ms. Adele Malone at 687-9356. If you have any questions about these documents please contact me at 687-9308.

Sincerely,

John B Walker

John B. Walker Executive Secretary

JBW Enclosure

ecc: Rose Marie Reynolds, Deputy Attorney General Colleen Cripps, Deputy Administrator

Mike Elges, BAPC Greg Remer, BAQP



