JIM. GIBBONS Governor



CHAIRMAN: Lew Dodgion Carson City, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

MEMBERS

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Tony Lesperance, Director Department of Agriculture

Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

Kenneth Mayer - Director Department of Wildlife

Kathryn Landreth Reno, NV

Tracy Taylor
State Engineer
Division of Water Resources

Harry Shull Las Vegas, NV

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Stephanne Zimmerman Las Vegas, NV

COUNSEL Rosemarie Reynolds

STAFF
John B. Walker
Executive Secretary

Robert Pearson
Recording Secretary

STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856

www.sec.nv.gov

NEVADA NEGUNIA

ALLEN BIAGGI Director

October 01, 2009

Ms. Brenda Erdoes, Legislative Counsel

C/o Debra. Corp Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB), Legal Division 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701-4747

Re: Regulation P2009-04: Class I Air Quality Operating Permit to Construct (OPTC):

Dear Ms. Corp:

Enclosed for "drafting" by the LCB Legal Division is a proposed permanent regulation that would amend NAC 445B.3363. This regulation established requirements and timelines for air quality permits involving case-by-case determinations for maximum achievable control technologies (MACTs) as required under federal rules governing the National Emissions Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants. The regulation is needed since the current Class I OPTC regulation does not allow sufficient time for processing case-by-case MACT applications, and it's inconsistent with existing federal rules.

If you have any questions about this regulation please contact Ms. Adele Malone at 687-9356. More information about the attached regulation is posted on the SEC website at: http://sec.nv.gov/main/hearing_1209.htm

Sincerely,

Iohn B Walker

John B. Walker Executive Secretary

JBW/jbw Enclosure

ecc: Rose Marie Reynolds, Deputy Attorney General Colleen Cripps, Deputy Administrator NDEP Mile Elges, NDEP / BAQP Greg Remer, NDEP / BPC Adele Malone, NDEP/BAQP