BRIAN SANDOVAL
Governor



STATE OF NEVADA

STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

Leo Drozdoff, P.E.

Director



901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856 www.sec.nv.gov

March 22, 2012

CHAIRMAN: Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

MEMBERS

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Jason King State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Kathryn Landreth Reno, NV

Jim Barbee Director, Department of Agriculture

Ken Mayer, Director Department of Wildlife

Tom Porta Reno, NV

Mark Turner Carson City, NV

Cary Richardson Carson City, NV

COUNSEL Rose Marie Reynolds

STAFF
John B. Walker
Executive Secretary

Mr. Jacob Snow, General Manager Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada 600 S Grand Central Parkway, Suite 350 Las Vegas NV 89106-4512

RE: APPROVAL OF REQUEST FOR YEAR-LONG VARIANCE FROM ALTERNATIVE FUELED VEHICLES IN FLEETS PROGRAM

Dear Mr. Snow:

On October 5, 2011 the Nevada State Environmental Commission (SEC) heard a petition filed by the Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada (RTC) requesting a year-long variance from requirements of the Alternative Fueled Vehicles in Fleets program. In testimony before the Commission, a request was made that would allow the use of standard diesel fuel for fixed route and Paratransit services vehicles instead of using a diesel alternative such as B5 biodiesel fuel. The RTC provided the fiscal rational for the request, which was made based on the provisions of NAC 486A.200 (1)(b). The Nevada Division of Environmental Protection had no objection to the variance request.

Hearing no further public comment on the matter, Chairman Gans asked for a motion from the Commission. Commissioner Jim Barbee moved to approve the variance request, his motion was seconded by Commissioner Turner and the motion passed unanimously. This letter serves as notification of the Commission's action on this matter, which has an effective date of October 5, 2011.

If you have any questions on this matter, please contact me at 775-687-9308.

John Walker

Executive Secretary

cc: Robert Bamford, Chief, NDEP-BAQP Zev Kaplan, RTC of So. NV Sandra Stanko, RTC of So. NV