



CHAIRMAN: Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

MEMBERS

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Jason King State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Kathryn Landreth Reno, NV

Jim Barbee Director, Department of Agriculture

Ken Mayer, Director Department of Wildlife

Tom Porta Reno, NV

Mark Turner Carson City, NV

Cary Richardson Carson City, NV

COUNSEL Rose Marie Reynolds

STAFF John B. Walker Executive Secretary

STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856 www.sec.nv.gov



Electronic Mail

July 19, 2011

Ms. Brenda Erdoes, Legislative Counsel

C/o Debra. Corp Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB), Legal Division 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701-4747

Re: Regulation P2011-04: Biennial Reports by Generators of Hazardous Waste

Dear Ms. Corp:

Enclosed for "drafting" by the LCB Legal Division is a proposed permanent regulation that would <u>delete</u> NAC 444.8675. As way of background the State of Nevada now requires biennial reporting of hazardous waste, however this reporting is more stringent than federal requirements. While federal regulations require only large quantity generators to submit biennial reports, State regulations require any generator holding an active EPA identification number to report. Accordingly, amending (deleting) this regulation to be consistent with federal requirements would reduce the regulatory burden on businesses generating small quantities of hazardous waste in Nevada.

If you have any questions about this regulation please contact Mr. Jim Trent at 687-9478. Related information about this regulation is available on the State Environmental Commission's website at: http://sec.nv.gov/main/hearing_1011.htm

Sincerely,

John B. Walker

John B Walker Executive Secretary

JBW/jbw Enclosure ecc: Colleen Cripps, Ph.D., Administrator Dave Emme, Deputy Administrator NDEP Eric Noack, NDEP/BWM Jim Trent, NDEP/BWM Rose Marie Reynolds, SEC/DAG