## JIM. GIBBONS Governor



CHAIRMAN: Lew Dodgion Carson City, NV

Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner

Administrator

**MEMBERS** 

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Tony Lesperance, Director Department of Agriculture

Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

Kenneth Mayer - Director Department of Wildlife

Ira Rackley Las Vegas, NV

Tracy Taylor
State Engineer
Division of Water Resources

Harry Shull Las Vegas, NV

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Stephanne Zimmerman Las Vegas, NV

COUNSEL Rosemarie Reynolds

John B. Walker
Executive Secretary

Robert Pearson
Recording Secretary

## STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856

www.sec.nv.gov

June 27, 2008

Ms. Brenda Erdoes, Legislative Counsel

C/o Debra. Corp Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB), Legal Division 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701-4747

Re: Regulation P2008-20: Public Water Systems

Dear Ms. Corp:

Enclosed for "drafting" by the LCB Legal Division is a proposed permanent regulation that would amend NAC 445A.

This regulation responds to US EPA requirements to insure Nevada retains primacy over safe drinking water. Revisions to the Water Quality and Treatment portions of Nevada's Public Water System regulations are proposed; the regulation further address EPA comments regarding Nevada's primacy request, which is currently under review, and it clarifies reporting requirements for fluoridated water systems.

In addition, revisions are proposed to the design and construction portions of the Public Water System regulation to properly reflect the transfer of the authority from the Nevada Health Division to the Division of Environmental Protection. Other minor technical revisions are also included.

If you have any questions about this regulation please contact Ms. Andrea Seifert (687-9526).

Sincerely,

John B Walker

John B. Walker Executive Secretary

JBW Enclosures

ecc: Rose Marie Reynolds, Deputy Attorney General Tom Porta, Deputy Administrator Jennifer Car, NDEP, BSDW Andrea Seifert, NDEP/BSDW ALLEN BIAGGI
Director

