## JIM. GIBBONS Governor



CHAIRMAN: Lew Dodgion Carson City, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

**MEMBERS** 

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Tony Lesperance, Director Department of Agriculture

Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

Kenneth Mayer - Director Department of Wildlife

Kathryn Landreth Reno, NV

Tracy Taylor State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Harry Shull Las Vegas, NV

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Stephanne Zimmerman Las Vegas, NV

COUNSEL Rosemarie Reynolds

STAFF
John B. Walker
Executive Secretary

Robert Pearson
Recording Secretary

## STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856

www.sec.nv.gov

March 15, 2010

Ms. Brenda Erdoes, Legislative Counsel

C/o Debra. Corp Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB), Legal Division 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701-4747

Regulation P2010-02: Repeal of Nevada Clean Air Mercury Rule

Dear Ms. Corp:

Enclosed for "drafting" by the LCB Legal Division is a proposed permanent regulation that would amend NAC 486A. The Nevada Division of Environmental Protection is proposing to repeal the Nevada Clean Air Mercury Rule Program by removing NAC 445B.3711 to 445B.3791, inclusive, and all references to the program throughout Chapter 445B of the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC).

This program was established in 2006 in response to a federal requirement for states to control mercury emissions from coal-fired electric generating units at power plants. In February 2008, the US Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia struck down the federal Clean Air Mercury Rule (CAMR) in "State of New Jersey, et al v USEPA, et al". Thus, the federal requirement for the Nevada CAMR program no longer exists

If you have any questions about this regulation please contact Ms. Adele Malone at 687-9356. More information about the attached regulation is posted on the SEC website at: http://www.sec.nv.gov/main/hearing\_0610.htm

Sincerely,

JOHN B WALKER

John B. Walker Executive Secretary

JBW/jbw Enclosure

ecc: Rose Marie Reynolds, Deputy Attorney General Colleen Cripps, Deputy Administrator NDEP Mile Elges, NDEP / BAQP Greg Remer, NDEP / BPC

Adele Malone, NDEP/BAQP

ALLEN BIAGGI
Director

