JIM. GIBBONS Governor



CHAIRMAN: Lew Dodgion Carson City, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

MEMBERS

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Tony Lesperance, Director Department of Agriculture

Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

Kenneth Mayer - Director Department of Wildlife

Ira Rackley Las Vegas, NV

Tracy Taylor State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Harry Shull Las Vegas, NV

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Stephanne Zimmerman Las Vegas, NV

COUNSEL Rosemarie Reynolds

STAFF John B. Walker Executive Secretary

Kathy Rebert Recording Secretary

STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856 <u>www.sec.nv.gov</u>



October 2, 2008

Ms. Brenda Erdoes, Legislative Counsel

C/o Debra. Corp Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB), Legal Division 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701-4747

Re: Regulation R189-08: Clarifications to Corrective Action Requirements for Soil & Groundwater After Release of Hazardous Substance

Dear Ms. Corp:

Enclosed for **"re-drafting**" by the LCB Legal Division is a proposed permanent regulation that would amend NAC 445A and 459. Staff from the Nevada Division of Environmental Protection has identified eight (8) specific changes to the proposed regulation. The specific changes are attached to this letter

Once again, if you have any questions about this regulation or the attached proposed changes please contact Mr. Scott Smale at 687-9384.

Sincerely,

John B Walker

John B. Walker Executive Secretary

JBW/jbw Enclosure ecc: Rose Marie Reynolds, Deputy Attorney General Tom Porta, Deputy Administrator NDEP Jim Najima, NDEP / BCA Scott Smale, NDEP / BCA