JIM. GIBBONS Governor



CHAIRMAN: Lew Dodgion Carson City, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

MEMBERS

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Tony Lesperance Director, Department of Agriculture

Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

Kenneth Mayer - Director Department of Wildlife

Ira Rackley Las Vegas, NV

Tracy Taylor State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Harry Shull Las Vegas, NV

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Stephanne Zimmerman Las Vegas, NV

COUNSEL Rose Marie Reynolds

STAFF John B. Walker Executive Secretary

Kathy Rebert Recording Secretary

## STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856 <u>www.sec.nv.gov</u>

February 24, 2009

Ms. Brenda Erdoes, Legislative Counsel

C/o Debra. Corp Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB), Legal Division 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701-4747

Regulation R153-08: Adopt by Reference Changes to the Federal Hazardous Waste Regulations

Dear Ms. Corp:

Attached is a permanent regulation referenced above that was adopted by the State Environmental Commission (SEC) on February 11, 2009. Also attached is the filing statement required by NRS 233B.066 and the SEC form for filing administrative regulations with the Secretary of State.

This regulation adopts by reference changes to the federal hazardous waste regulations through July 1, 2008. Changes include the revision to an existing exclusion from the definition of solid waste (and thus from regulation as hazardous waste) for recycled oil bearing hazardous secondary materials and clarifications to previously approved air pollution regulations.

More information about this regulation such as workshop notices and related background information is available on the SEC website at: <a href="http://sec.nv.gov/main/hearing\_021109.htm">http://sec.nv.gov/main/hearing\_021109.htm</a>

The contact person for this regulation is Mr. Jim Trent 687-9478.

If you have any questions about these documents please contact me at 687-9308.

Sincerely,

John B Walker

John B. Walker Executive Secretary

JBW Enclosure ecc: Rose Marie Reynolds, Deputy Attorney General Colleen Cripps, Deputy Administrator Eric Noack, BWM Jim Trent, BWM Don Cripe, BWM

