JIM. GIBBONS Governor



CHAIRMAN: Lew Dodgion Carson City, NV

Alan Coyner Administrator **Division of Minerals** Commission on Mineral Resources

VICE CHAIRMAN:

MEMBERS

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Tony Lesperance, Director Department of Agriculture

Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

Kenneth Mayer - Director Department of Wildlife

Ira Rackley Las Vegas, NV

Tracy Taylor State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Harry Shull Las Vegas, NV

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Stephanne Zimmerman Las Vegas, NV

COUNSEL Rosemarie Reynolds

John B. Walker **Executive Secretary**

Robert Pearson **Recording Secretary**

STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856

www.sec.nv.gov

June 27, 2008

Ms. Brenda Erdoes, Legislative Counsel

C/o Debra. Corp Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB), Legal Division 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701-4747

Re: Regulation P2008-15: Application of Air Pollution Control Best Available Retrofit Technology & Emission Limitations for Major Electric Generating Units

Dear Ms. Corp:

Enclosed for "drafting" by the LCB Legal Division is a proposed permanent regulation that would amend NAC 445B.

This regulation would add a requirement for certain electric generating units to install best available retrofit technology and comply with emission limitations for NOx, SO2 and PM10. These requirements apply to Sierra Pacific Resources' Fort Churchill and Tracy Generating Stations in the Mason Valley and the Truckee River Basins, respectively; as well as Nevada Power Company's Reid Gardner Generating Station in the California Wash northeast of Las Vegas; and Southern California Edison's Mohave Generating Station near Laughlin. This proposed regulation is necessary to comply with the federal Regional Haze Regulations promulgated in July 1999 (64FR35714).

If you have any questions about this regulation please contact Ms. Adele Malone (687-9356).

Sincerely,

John B Walker

John B. Walker **Executive Secretary**

JBW Enclosures

ecc: Rose Marie Reynolds, Deputy Attorney General Colleen Cripps, Deputy Administrator

Mike Elges, NDEP, BAQP Greg Remer, NDEP/BAPC



ALLEN BIAGGI

