JIM. GIBBONS Governor



CHAIRMAN: Lew Dodgion Carson City, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

MEMBERS

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Tony Lesperance Director, Department of Agriculture

Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

Kenneth Mayer - Director Department of Wildlife

Kathryn Landreth Reno, NV

Jason King State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Harry Shull Las Vegas, NV

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Stephanne Zimmerman Las Vegas, NV

COUNSEL Rose Marie Reynolds

STAFF
John B. Walker
Executive Secretary

Kathy Rebert
Recording Secretary

STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856

www.sec.nv.gov

July 21, 2010

Dan Galpern, Staff Attorney Western Environmental Law Center 1216 Lincoln Street Eugene Oregon 97401

Megan Anderson, Staff Attorney Western Environmental Law Center 208 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Unit 602 Taos, New Mexico 87571

Re: Reid Gardner Station: Appeal of Water Pollution Control Groundwater Permit NEV91022

Mr. Galpern and Ms. Anderson;

The State Environmental Commission (SEC) is in receipt of the above referenced appeal submitted through the Western Environmental Law Center (WELC), on behalf of the Sierra Club. Your appeal addresses a variety of concerns about the recently issued water pollution control groundwater permit issued on June 24, 2010 by the Nevada Division of Environmental Protection (NDEP) to NV Energy of Nevada. The permit authorizes discharge of process and non-process water to evaporation ponds located at the Reid Gardner [power] Station in Moapa located in Clark County Nevada.

Please note, and by your request this appeal is being held in abeyance pending actions by WELC to further quantify the nature of the appeal and/or negotiate resolution of outstanding issues with NDEP and/or NVEnergy.

If you have any questions, please call me at (775) 687-9308.

Sincerely;

John B. Walker Executive Secretary

JBW/ibw

cc: Colleen Cripps, PhD - Acting Administrator, NDEP Lina Tanner, NDEP/DAG Jon Palm NDEP/BWPC Jeryl R. Gardner NDEP/BWPC Rose Marie Reynolds DAG/SEC Thomas Woodworth, Counsel NV Energy Tony Garcia, ESM NV Energy



