BRIAN SANDOVAL Governor



CHAIRMAN: Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

MEMBERS

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Jason King State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Kathryn Landreth Reno, NV

Vacant Director, Department of Agriculture

Ken Mayer, Acting Director Department of Wildlife

Tom Porta Reno, NV

Mark Turner Carson City, NV

Stephanne Zimmerman Las Vegas, NV

COUNSEL Rose Marie Reynolds

STAFF John B. Walker Executive Secretary

Kathy Rebert Recording Secretary

STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856 <u>www.sec.nv.gov</u>





April 26, 2011

Dan Galpern, Staff Attorney Western Environmental Law Center 1216 Lincoln Street Eugene OR 97401

> Re: Request for Determination on Jurisdiction and Request to Hold Appeal in Abeyance for the Southern Nevada Health District's Permit Number LF006-CMF-01 for the Reid Gardner Power Station

Dear Mr. Galpern:

The State Environmental Commission (SEC) has received your request regarding a ruling on its jurisdiction concerning an appeal you filed on behalf of the Sierra Club and the Moapa Band of Paiutes. Your appeal to the SEC (see attached) addressed the above referenced final permit issued by the Southern Nevada Health District to NV Energy for a coal ash landfill located at the Reid Gardner Power Station in Southern Nevada.

In your letter of April 21, 2011, you advised the SEC that your clients have recently asked the Southern Nevada Health District (Board of Health) to reconsider and rescind its October 28, 2010 decision.

Given that the October 28, 2010 decision does not appear to be final, the SEC will not proceed with disposition of your appeal or consider any jurisdictional issues until the Board of Health acts on your request for reconsideration.

Sincerely,

John B. Walker Executive Secretary

Attachment

cc: Lawrence Sands D.O., M.P.H Board of Health Linda Strickland, Chair Board of Health Glen Savage, SNHD Thomas C. Woodworth, Counsel NV Energy Rose Marie Reynolds, SEC/DAG