BRIAN SANDOVAL Governor



CHAIRMAN: Eugene Gans Las Vegas, NV

VICE CHAIRMAN: Alan Coyner Administrator Division of Minerals Commission on Mineral Resources

MEMBERS

Pete Anderson State Forester Division of Forestry

Frances Barron State Board of Health Las Vegas, NV

Jason King State Engineer Division of Water Resources

Kathryn Landreth Reno, NV

Jim Barbee Director, Department of Agriculture

Ken Mayer, Director Department of Wildlife

Tom Porta Reno, NV

Mark Turner Carson City, NV

Cary Richardson Carson City, NV

COUNSEL Rose Marie Reynolds

STAFF John B. Walker Executive Secretary

STATE OF NEVADA STATE ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION

901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001 Carson City, Nevada 89701-5249 Telephone (775) 687-9308 Fax (775) 687-5856 <u>www.sec.nv.gov</u>

August 10, 2011

The Comstock Residents Association P.O. Box 29 Silver City, NV 89428

RE: Appeal Mercury Operating Permit to Construct: Phase 2 AP1041-2690, FIN A0404, Plum Mining Company, LLC

Dear Sir:

On August 5, 2011 the State Environmental Commission (SEC) received a hand delivered letter from the Comstock Residents Association. The unsigned letter constitutes an appeal of the above mentioned permit that was issued on July 27, 2011 by the Nevada Division of Environmental Protection's, Bureau of Air Pollution Control (NDEP/BAPC).

In order to proceed with the appeal, I am requesting the name and phone number of a contact person from the Comstock Residents Association. In addition, if the association is to be represented by counsel in this appeal, which is not a requirement, could you please advise me accordingly.

For your information I am enclosing a copy of the State Environmental Commission's Rules of Practice.

Sincerely

John B. Walker Executive Secretary

Jbw/ Enclosed ecc: DAG/SEC Staff/NDEP



