
NDEP-BAPC PENALTY RECOMMENDATIONS - May 2, 2014 

 

 

TAB 

NO. 

COMPANY  NAME    VIOLATION & PENALTY SUMMARY NOAV 

NUMBER 

RECOMMENDED 

PENALTY 

A 

Newmont Nevada 

Energy Investment, 

LLC, 

Eureka County 

 

NOAV 2453 

Violation: Failure to comply with a permitted emission limit 

Emission Limit: 2.06 lbs/hr Sulfuric Acid Mist 

Emission Unit: System #1, Subcritical Boiler  

 

Base Penalty: $7,500, for Major Source failing for a “major” pollutant 

Magnitude (Multiplier): Moderate (1.38x) 

Violation History (Adjustment): 4 violation within past 5 years = 20%.  

Total Penalty: ($7,500 x 1.38) + (10,350 x 20%) = $12,420 

2453 $12,420 

B 
Nevada Slag, Inc.,  

White Pine County 

 

NOAV 2455 

Violation:  Failure to comply with a permitted emission limit.   

Emission Limit: 20% Opacity. 

Emission Unit: System 2, Dryer and System 3, Material Transfer 

 

Base Penalty: $1,000, for Class II Source failing a permitted emission limit 

Magnitude (Multiplier): Extremely High Amount (6x) for 2 systems 

Violation History (Adjustment): N/A 

Total Penalty: ($1,000 x 6) x (2 units) = $12,000 

 

NOAV 2456 

Violation: Failure to operate required air pollution controls. 

Emission Unit: System 2, Dryer 

Requirement: Wet Scrubber 

 

Base Penalty: $600, for Class II Source operating without air pollution controls.  

Magnitude (Multiplier): 1 Day 

Violation History (Adjustment): N/A 

Total Penalty: $600 x 1 = $600 

2455 

and 

2456 

$12,600 

C 

Q & D Construction, 

Inc., 

Eureka County 

 

NOAV 2462 

Violation: Failure to comply with a permitted emission limit 

Emission Limit: 156 lbs/day NOx 

Emission Unit: System 04, Drum Dryer (S2.001) 

 

Base Penalty: $2,500, for Class II source failing a compliance source test 

Magnitude (Multiplier): Moderate Amount (1.3x) 

Violation History (Adjustment): N/A 

Total Penalty: $2,500 x 1.3 = $3,250 

2462 $3,250 
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D 

Hawthorne Army 

Depot, 

Mineral County 

 

NOAV 2471 

Violation: Failure to comply with a permitted emission limit 

Emission Limit: 0.40 ng/dscm Dioxin/Furan, Test result: 1.01 ng/dcsm 

Emission Unit: System 30, Munitions Detonation Rotary Kiln (RF-9)  

 

Base Penalty: $7,500, for Major Source failing a NESHAP limit 

Magnitude (Multiplier): Moderate Amount (2.525x) 

Violation History (Adjustment): 2 violations in the past 5 years = 10% 

Total Penalty: ($7,500 x 2.525) + (18,900 x 10%) = $20,800 

2471 $20,800 

E 

Rockwood Lithium 

Inc., 

Esmeralda County 

 

NOAV 2474 

Violation: Failure to conduct required compliance source testing 

Emission Unit: System 17A, Boiler 

Requirement: Conduct initial compliance source testing for PM/PM10, SO2, NOx, CO and 

opacity within 60 days after achieving the maximum production rate but no later than 180 

days after initial startup 
 

Base Penalty: $1,000, for failing to conduct required source testing 

Magnitude (Multiplier): 5 months 

Violation History (Adjustment): N/A 

Total Penalty: $1,000 x 5 = $5,000 

2474 $5,000 

F 
Alston Construction, 

Storey County 

 

NOAV 2476 

Violation: Failure to apply for and obtain an operating permit prior to commencing construction  

Requirement: Apply for and obtain a Surface Area Disturbance permit for any project that disturbs 

over 5 acres 

 

Base Penalty: $500, plus $50 per acre of disturbance 

Magnitude (Multiplier): 48 Acres 

Violation History (Adjustment): N/A 

Total Penalty: $500 + (48 x $50) = $2,900 

2476 $2,900 


